Mind & EmotionsYoga & SpiritualityYogic Physiology And Psychology - Conscious Chirag

May 6, 2020by Chirag Garg0

Becoming aware of my whole body has been a life-changing experience. I have learned to work more deeply with my mind, body, and breath after exploring this topic. We all intuitively know that we are more than our physical bodies. In the yogic view, like an onion, we have many sheaths. As we dive deeper into ourselves, we become more and more aware of our whole system. Yogic texts explain 5 sheaths of our bodies:

  1. Annamaya Kosha (Food Body): The gross or physical body made of food.
  2. Pranamaya Kosha (Vital Life Force Body): The vital principle (that uses breath as it’s vehicle) or the force that holds the body and mind together.
  3. Manomaya Kosha (Mental Body): The body responsible for thinking and feeling.
  4. Vijnanamaya Kosha (Intellectual Body): The body which discriminates, determines and wills.
  5. Anandamaya Kosha (Bliss Body): A veil covering the Atman or the real Supreme Self.

Becoming aware of our mental faculties can lead us to heightened states of awareness. Instead of letting things happen compulsively, we can take charge of them and start acting more consciously. We can thus, start to realize our essential nature and get closer to the ultimate Self (Atman).

Vedanta psychology and jnana yoga use the concepts of manas, ahankara, buddhi, and chitta in order to arrive at an understanding of mental functions.

Through the five senses, we take in data that is projected on the screen of a lower mind called manas. The intelligent use of data flashing on the screen of manas depends on the action of two other functions. The first is I-ness and the other is buddhi. These are collectively called internal instruments. Usually when they are resting, another function called chitta opens up.

Yoga Psychology talks about the mind is extreme detail. Here are the 4 aspects of our mind explained in the scriptures:

  1. Manas (Sensory Motor Mind): Sees that information is received and that action is coordinated smoothly. Since, it lacks the ability to make decision, its basic nature is to doubt.
  2. Chitta (Memory Bank): Unconscious part of mind which lies outside daily awareness. It opens up when “manas” is not receiving a constant stream of sensory inputs.
  3. Ahankara (I-Ness): Transforms sensory inputs into personal experience by relating them to individual identity. It lends the ability to separate the self from the flow of events.
  4. Buddhi (Power of Decisiveness): Asserts authority over the realm of impulse, instinct, and habit by selecting a course of action which leads to growth.

Chirag Garg

Making tools of growth available to all human beings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

three − 2 =

Find A SPECIAL Gratitude Gift In Your Mail


Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates.

You have Successfully Subscribed!